A life with no regrets…except one.

image

I’d like to say that I have no regrets.

That nothing I’ve done in my 31 years is a cause for regret.

But that would be a lie.
Let me tell you why.

image

When I was 23 my second and last daughter was born.  My husband didn’t want anymore babies, 2 was enough. I wanted 5.

He wanted me to get my tubes tied. I didn’t want to but I wanted to please him and I thought it was the “grown up” thing to do.  After all my Mom had her tubes tied after 2 kids and she thought it was a good idea.

The morning after Naomi was born the Doctor who would perform my surgery came in to talk to me. He asked me if I was sure I didn’t want anymore kids, ever. My Mom was in the room so I said “yes, I’m sure”. But inside I wasn’t sure.  I didn’t want to do it. I loved my babies and I loved my husband and wanted more babies with him.

image

That was my only regret.

if only I’d just said “No, I don’t think I’m ready for that yet”.

I’d done stupid things. I was a teenager after all.  But nothing that I regret.

 I loved everything about being pregnant. I loved everything about my babies. I loved nursing. I loved cuddling. I loved watching them learn and grow.  I loved keeping them close in their sling.  I even loved cloth diapering!

I don’t think there has been a day in the past 8 years that has gone by that I don’t think about my mistake, my regret.

I love my daughters. They are my life, my best friends.  They are still my babies.

image

Some people may say “At least you have kids, a lot of people can’t even have kids.  Be happy with what you have.” I say that to myself too.

It doesn’t help.

I know all of that stuff.

I know Jehovah blessed me with my kids.

 I love them so much.  So much that I want more babies to love.

image

I love my life. My family. My God.

My regret is only a regret.  Nothing else.

If you are not 100% sure of what you’re about to do.  Don’t do it.  Give yourself time to weigh the pros and cons.  Make a list.  Be informed.  Do your research.

⬇️ My beautiful family ⬇️

image

Do you have any regrets?


11 thoughts on “A life with no regrets…except one.

    1. Thank you! Sometimes it’s not easy to admit our regrets. I let this one take over my life for several years. I just wanted to share because I know there are a lot of other women who have made the same regret as me.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh wow, you worded it so well. Very intense writing. I only have one daughter, and I never had to make that decision as getting pregnant wasn’t easy. Still, I do understand your feelings about this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment